Spain Beat England 1-0 To Win The Women’s World Cup For The First Time

This is the first time Spain has won a Women’s World Cup.

Spain Beat England 1-0 To Win The Women’s World Cup For The First Time

In a first for the country, Spain has beat England 1-0 to win the 2023 Women’s World Cup in Sydney, Australia, on Sunday Aug. 20.

Both countries had been competing to win the Women’s World Cup for the first time.

spain women world cup win 2023

The winning goal came during the first half from Spain’s captain Olga Carmona during the 29th minute.

Although England’s Lionesses rallied during the second half, with goalkeeper Mary Earps saving a penalty, La Roja held on till the end to take home the trophy.

With its win, Spain now joins Germany as one of two countries to win both a men’s and women’s World Cup.

The last time England won a World Cup trophy had been in the men’s tournament in 1966.

spain won women world cup
Ivana Andres of Spain and teammates celebrate with the FIFA Women’s World Cup Trophy (Photo by Maddie Meyer – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images)

Spain’s Aitana Bonmati took home the FIFA Golden Ball – the award for the tournament’s best player – while Earps was awarded the Golden Glove Award for the best goalkeeper in the tournament.

Meanwhile, 23-year-old Japan midfielder Hinata Miyazawa won the Golden Boot – the award for the player who scored the most goals in the tournament – at five goals.

Co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand, this year’s tournament has broken attendance and TV records, raising hopes of rising interest in women’s sports, according to Reuters.

More On The Women’s World Cup

Brazilian Soccer Player Marta Gave A Moving Speech About Representation In Women’s Sports At Her Final World Cup
This 16-Year-Old South Korean Player Has Become The Youngest Person To Play At The Women’s World Cup
This South Korean Soccer Player Scored An Outrageous Goal And Then Got Shy And It’s So Cute

Subscribe To The Almost Newsletter For More